Eliphalet H. Turner House, Grand Rapids Michigan
Built in 1846 by Gideon Colton, builder, for Eliphalet H. Turner. Was the first stone house of note built on the west side of the river. Material of exterior walls and main bearing walls is lime stone taken from the bed of Grand River, known locally as "river stone." This is a soft stone of pleasing gray and buff color. There are no fireplaces in the house. The two central chimneys of brick are original as shown by engraving in Baxter's History of Grand Rapids.
The house was purchased from the Turner family in 1895 by William Patton. Mr. Patton was a glass cutter and he removed the old cut-up sash substituting single lights. He also removed the blinds which are shown on the picture of the house in Baxter's History as existing at that date 1891. At the death of Mr. Patton, the rear one story portion of the original house was raised to two stories with shingled exterior walls. The North entrance door and stair were added at this time.
A unique feature of the interior is the stair hand rail which terminates over the newel in the carved form of a man's hand. There is embedded in the wood at that point, a sterling silver plate, bearing the engraving "G. Colton, Builder" The stair parts are made of red cherry.
Chimney centered on the main part of the house was removed after 1934.
The house is rectangular with rear wing, 2 stories, main wing - 28' 5" x 34'.